About us



The Herts & Essex Cricket League was formed in 1993, in response to a number of local village sides in the Bishop’s Stortford & surrounding areas wanting to play competitive, league cricket.


Our founding members who formed the first division were Birchanger, Epping Foresters, Farnham, Fyfield, High Roding, Hockerill, Newport, Stansted Hall, Willingale. Hockerill gained the honour of being our first ever Division 1 champions.


In recent years the league has welcomed sponsorship from HECCSport who have supported the league for the last five years and continue to play a vital role both in the league and for it’s member clubs.


The league rapidly expanded from its humble beginning to include 6 divisions made up from 40 clubs across Herts and Essex.

Division 2 began in 1996, Division 3 in 1999, Division 4 in 2001 and with the introduction of a fifth Division in 2002 the League’s total membership stood at 50 competing teams from 42 different clubs. 2006 saw the introduction of Division 6.



The league welcome applications to enter teams from new and existing clubs that fall with in a 15 mile radius of Hockerill Cricket Club. It was at Hockerill that the first league meeting was convened sitting as it does on the Herts and Essex border and placed centrally to our current geographic spread of clubs.

We aim for each Division to consist of 10 clubs, playing 18 fixtures per season from early May until late August. Matches are played over 45 overs on a Saturday in Divisions 1 and 2 and 40 overs from Division 3 down. Winning sides are awarded 26 points with the losing side able to gain bonus points for batting and bowling achievements.

To celebrate the end of each season, a formal Presentation Evening is held after the season end which includes a guest after dinner speaker and live music.

A League Cup competition was introduced in 1999 with Birchanger becoming our first winners. A shield competition was introduced in 2012.

In 2018 HECL are delighted to welcome Tees as our new headline sponsor. The League is now known as The Tees Herts & Essex Cricket League. The Shield Competition is sponsored by Lords International who are the league’s ball supplier.


Clubs finishing in the top 16 places of the league will be entered in to the Tees League Cup competition with other clubs encouraged to
enter the Lords International Shield competition.


To further raise the profile of the League, from 2005, we have entered a League Representative XI in the Club Cricket Conference Inter League Sovereign Trophy and we have competed every year since with some success.

In 2006 we achieved compliance with the ECB’s Safe Hands Policy and as such were one of the first leagues in the country to do so and each Club must have an ECB accredited Club Welfare Officer.

The League is very proud to champion the ‘Spirit of the Game’ and has a very strict Code of Conduct which sets the standards we wish to see both on and off the field of play and that has led to an enviable reputation for the way we play the game.

© HECL 2018

Follow us

  • Twitter Clean